Platformer Iteration 1

Last week I had listed out the ideas for the platformer game I want to do. So in this week’s iteration, I am going to show the player’s avatar and animation I wish to add into the game.

My platformer game is a Hack & Slash game and it has a 2D cute cartoon art style for the player’s avatar. After some researches, I found out that Hollow Knight had given me a lot of inspirations and I would like to take references from the game. So, I start to search for the hollow knight sprite and planned to use them in the game to find out is it fits the game or not.

First, I made a mockup to see how does it looks like. The mockup is same as last week’s mockup and I just changed the player’s avatar in the mockup.

Platformer mockup 2

Looks like it’s fine.

Now, I will try to insert the sprite into the prototype of my game and test it out. The sprites I will insert include idle, walk, jump and attack. Before showing the results, I will like to show what is the original player’s avatar I used in the previous prototype.

This is the player’s avatar I used in last week’s prototype. It is taken from the stencyl’s crash course kit.

Idle

4-2.png

Walk

Jump

4-4

 

And below are the sprites I used for this week’s prototype. All of them are Hollow Knight’s sprites. I will show the animation under the sprites.

Idle

Idle Animation
Idle animation

Walk

Walk-animation
Walk animation

Jump

Jump-1
Jump animation

Attack

I put dark blue color as the background to show the attack 2 slash effect clearly.

attack-animation
Attack animation

 

Research

First, I’ll describe what does the 2D cute cartoon art style that I meant looks like in my mind. It definitely looks like Hollow Knight, which the character is in small size and the head is 1/2 to the character’s height and I think this style is Chibi.

Chibi:

“A Japanese slang word describing something short (a thing, an animal or a person).  The term is widely used in Japan to describe a specific style of caricature where characters are drawn in an exaggerated way. Typically these characters are small and chubby, with stubby limbs and oversized heads to make them resemble children. This style of artwork, also known as super deformed. The head of a super deformed character is normally anywhere between one third and one half the character’s height.”

(Wikipedia, 2018)

These are the games that also used chibi style on the character:

1.Hollow Knight

hollow-knight

2. World of Final Fantasy

2889709-battle_02_fix001.jpg

3. Assassin Creed Rebellion (coming soon)

unnamed.png

The reason that I want to use this style is because it doesn’t necessarily need the character has a lot of details, like Hollow Knight and this will be easy to me to create sprite if I want to create my own character. Besides that, I also plan to add a boss with big size to the game so that I can create a scenario that tiny protagonist vs huge size boss monster in the game.

That’s all for this week, thank you very much.

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started